Flowers of Mead?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DrewschBag

Reaction score
I apologize for not having the proper information about my situation (OG and PH) but I noticed my problem moments before I had to leave for work and now I'm sitting at work paranoid about my mead.

I noticed a few small white spots on the surface of my Raspberry Melomel (AZIPA's recipe) and I'm trying to identify the situation.

I've been making beer and wine for a few years and never had an infection, but this is only my 3rd mead. I was reading about Mycoderma and I'm curious if this affects meads?

Isn't that a precursor to vinegar/acetobacter infection? So I guess the true test would be to taste it and see if there are any vinegar taste characters (still fermenting mead can smell vinegary but its just CO2 burn).

With no pics or anything, I'd say you're probably fine. You've been brewing for years without any infections, so your sanitation is probably good. It is likely just yeast/ honey proteins suspended on the surface.

Thanks for posting back. I'm going to drive home over lunch and pull a sample. If I have time I'll try to get a pic also.

No vinegar taste! I'll be keeping a close eye on it though. If it is just honey protein should it dissipate on its own or should I rack again now?

Whenever I get floaty stuff, I just leave it until I would otherwise rack. Then I just rack underneath it. Some people rack more liberally but with each racking, you're losing final product.

Would adding Camden hurt anything? I'm probably overly paranoid here, but with the price of raspberries and honey I'm nervous about losing the whole thing.

Pictures, which probably don't help much.

IMG_20140610_201306.jpg

IMG_20140610_201220.jpg